Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Juicing: Days 3 & 4

Day 3

Today was not too bad at all. I was able to make about 1.5 liters of juice to take with me to work. I had a juice once every 3 hours along with plenty of water through the day. Drinking the water and being busy at work allows you to keep your mind off of your hunger. I would not say that I’m excessively hungry, but I do have a lot of stomach grumbling. The grumbling is not from any types of hunger pangs, but rather seems to be just my intestine regulating itself. They feel more like air bubbles passing through my system. For dinner I made myself a fresh juice and all was good. I do feel like eating something because I miss the element of chewing your food.

Day 4

Laziness got to me today and I ended up cheating, a lot. I did not wake up early enough to make my juices before work. So I just slammed down a bunch of water and hoped I’d be able to figure something out. As the day progressed, I started to get hungry any needed to figure something out. I went to the cafeteria and got me some Naked Juice. The issue with naked juice is that most of them are actually smoothies. I settled for the Green Machine smoothie because most of my juices thus far have been more fruits than veggies. That along with water throughout the day was enough to hold me over until I got home. When I got home I made myself a juice and was set, but not for long. After drinking my juice I decided to start studying for my final exam on Monday. As I was studying, I started to become hungrier and hungrier. It came to a point where I could not take it anymore and had to find something to eat/drink. I did not feel like making another juice so I succumbed to eating something. I grabbed a handful of spinach and a cucumber and went to town. I know many people will say that isn’t really cheating, but I really wanted to do the whole juicing experiment without eating anything solid. But man! Let me tell ya, that was the best cheat meal ever! Just eating something solid and actually using my teeth to chew was such a delightful experience.

Things to note: Meal prep, meal prep, meal prep. I don’t think I would have been in this situation if I made sure that I had made enough juice to get me through the day. So if you are planning on trying a juice fast, make sure that you keep up with your meal prep otherwise it is too easy to cheat.

Leave a Reply

