Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Juicing: Days 1 & 2

Sunrise Juice Supplies

Day 1

Day one was special because here in DC we had a snow day! We finally got some snow and I was excited that they closed work; it’s like being in grade school all over again. As for the juicing, since I was busy doing chores around the house I only made two juices. The first one was on the sweeter side and had oranges, carrots, and a beet in it. I really enjoyed it 1 because it was sweet and 2 because I couldn’t really taste the beet. Now I’m not a big fan of beets. The only way I really like them is when they’re pickled, but in this juice I was able to enjoy them even though they provided an earthy (nice way of saying it tasted like it had some dirt in it) element to the overall drink. The other juice Imran made and it had celery, kale, cucumber, and an apple. This one tasted a little bit bitter and salty and I think that was due to the kale. Overall, I’d say that it isn’t one that hate, but I sure don’t love it.

Sunrise JuiceSunrise Juice:

8 Carrots

3 Oranges

2 Beets

Makes ~ 1.5 Liters

Day 2

As expected, I had a little bit of a headache. I had been told that the first 3 days of a juice fast will be an interesting transition because your body is shocked by it. It wasn’t anything major, I just felt like my head was heavy, but that might have been due to school. Currently, I’m debating if I should incorporate some solid foods like fruits and salads. I really want to chew something and feel satiated throughout the day. In essence I feel adding salads would supplement the juice diet because it is basically the same thing. Additionally, think there will be the added benefit of the fiber associated with these foods. For now I want to see how long I can go solid food free. Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

