Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Juicing

Hey Everybody!

So it has been like 9 months since I posted last about anything, so what better time to start something new than now?

A couple of weeks ago I got home early from work and didn’t feel like doing any of my homework, that’s a whole different story, and hopped on Netflix. I came across a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead which follows an Aussie named Joe Cross on his journey during a 60 day juice fast. Cross had a whole host of medical issues in addition to being very overweight. The idea behind a juice fast (juice cleanse) is that you detoxify your body by providing it vibrant micronutrients in the form of juices made from fresh fruits and veggies while cutting out any processed foods and toxins. Now, I’m not saying that only juice is the way to go, but I figured that this might be a challenge worth trying.

So after watching the documentary my brother and I figured that we’d look into it and see if we wanted to try it. Imran did a bunch of research and came across two major types of juicers, centrifugal and masticating. The former cuts up the fruits and vegetables with a flat cutting blade and then spins it at a high speed to separate the juice from the pulp. The masticating juicer uses an auger (like a drill bit) to compact and crush the fruits and vegetables into smaller sections before squeezing out its juice through a screen. There are pros and cons for both, but since we’re very new to this we went with the centrifugal juicer because it is easier to use and clean.

The one thing I have learned from my dietary experiments in the past is to start off slow. I once went raw for a whole week and then ate a heavy meal right afterwards. The going raw part wasn’t hard, but my body (stomach) had adapted to not eating “normal” food. As soon as I shocked it without a transitional period, I was in trouble. I had stomach pangs for about two day. So this time around I’m thinking about juicing for a week, but not being completely dependent on juice. I’ll try to incorporate some whole fruits and vegetables as well as some protein, via protein shakes.

Just like my vegan food journey, I’ll try to post updates about how it is going and any recommendations I might have about the process.

Leave a Reply

