Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Going Vegan: Week #3

Alright, week 3 is done and all is well. Many of my friends have been asking me if I have been losing weight during this experiment and I have decided to share with you why I haven’t been really losing any weight. So far I’ve lost about 2-4 pounds, which isn’t really that much. Why haven’t I lost more weight? Wouldn’t going vegan cause you to lose weight? The answer to those questions is, yes and no. Yes, I feel that if you go vegan and stick to just fruits, veggies, nuts, and clean organic foods you’ll lose weight, but there is unhealthy vegan food out there too. One thing that has changed in my diet during this vegan process is the amount of processed foods I eat. I have allowed myself to eat and drink items that I had normally cut out of my diet because, heck I’m going vegan why not allow myself the other things. Before going vegan, I had cut out soda for the most part in addition to chips, most carbs, and sweets. After going vegan I have noticed that I have allowed myself to eat arguably the worst kind of chips, thick cut salt and vinegar kettle chips, and my soda intake has gone from maybe once or twice a month to a couple of times a week. Also, I have been trying a variety of vegan desserts just to see if they taste like their “real” counter parts. FYI, the vegan desserts I have tried are quite good. I’ll share more about this in a later post. I feel that because of the addition of these high sodium and high sugar foods I have not been losing much weight. Additionally, my activity level has gone down this past month.  This is due to me being busy/lazy not fatigue. Because of this I am thinking about continuing this vegan experiment for an additional week, going until the end of April, so I can try to revamp my vegan diet and get my activity level back to normal. We’ll see how this goes.

 

Leave a Reply

