Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Going Vegan

My brother and I have decided to try being Vegan for a month. All in all it has been a good experience. If you know anything about me, you know I’m a huge meat eater. Given the option of eating healthy or to go with a juicy animal product, I’d traditionally go with the latter. That being said, last week Imran and I were sitting around just talking and the topic of trying vegetarianism came up. I stated that it seems to be a healthy lifestyle. To me it seems like as a society we eat massive amounts of meat when traditional societies would eat meat sporadically, such as special events or in times of dire need. Imran stated that if I was going to try that, then I might as well go all the way and become vegan; Imran so eloquently stated, “Go Big or Go Home!” So we decided to try it out for a month and see if we could last and if we’d feel healthier afterwards.

To prep for the upcoming week, we hit up a local Co-Op and Trader Joe’s to get some supplies. Since I was booked for the weekend and wouldn’t have time to cook, we bought a variety of Tofu based fake meats, hemp & soy protein powders , soy & almond milks, canned beans, and quinoa items.

With these items as a starting point and the wonderful fruits and veggies from the local store, we plan to take this journey into veganism for the next month. As our journey progresses, I’ll try to keep you all updated!

First week’s supplies minus the fruits and veggies.

First week’s supplies minus the fruits and veggies.

Leave a Reply

