Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Going Vegan: Weeks 4 & 5

Hey Everybody!

So my brother and I have just finished weeks 4 and 5 of our vegan exploration. Originally we planned on just going for 4 weeks, but decided to tack on an additional week. All in all, going vegan wasn’t as difficult as we both thought. The first week was the toughest because we didn’t really know about the volume of food you would need to eat in order to feel full. Constantly eating veggies kind of make you feel like you’re always eating while sitting at your desk at work. On various occasions I know I have told friends that I feel like a cow just chewing food constantly. From this whole experience I feel so much better on multiple levels. First off, once I shifted away from eating the processed soy stuff to more fruits and veggies, I could notice myself looking and feeling leaner. It seems like in a way it was a detox for my body. As for weight loss, I did not lose much (maybe 7 pounds) but that would be because I wasn’t as active as I normally am. Also, I have developed a better appreciation for vegan foods and eating more fruits and veggies. Yes, vegan foods don’t look as appealing as other foods, but if you get over the looks and try them, they can be quite good. I was lucky because being in a large metropolitan area made it easy to find vegan options when I went out to eat with friends. I only recall one time where I had to settle for a salad because there wasn’t a vegan option on the menu, but I should have known better since we were going to country French café. From this experience I know that I will incorporate more fruits and veggies into my diet along with more whole organic foods. I also know that after staying away from processed foods and the revitalized feeling it gave me, I’ll try to scale back on the processed foods I eat in the future.

 

I want to take this opportunity to thank everybody who took the time to read my blog during this adventure and to all of those who supported my brother and me during this time. It was an adventurous journey and I’m looking forward to see how this experience will change the rest of my life.

2 responses

  1. Good luck on your journey!!! I’m on week 9 of my journey and LOVING the vegan diet.

    April 29, 2013 at 1:15 PM

  2. What an awesome adventure that you took on – I am so glad that you had such positive results.

    April 29, 2013 at 1:35 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers