Because Guys Can Cook Good Food Too!

Going Vegan Days 1 & 2

So far days 1 & 2 have been going well. The hardest part aside from reading labels has been drinking the protein shakes. They lack any flavor and are chalky in nature. Typically I just mix the powder with some water, but in the coming day I’m going to try making it with some soy/almond milk and blend in some fruits. Hopefully this will make it less of a chore and more palatable. My diet has basically consisted of the following items throughout the day:

  • A Banana & Protein Shake (Breakfast)
  • Celery, Broccoli, Carrots, Cliff Bar, Nuts, Dates, Orange, & Apple (Snacks & Lunch)
  • Lentils / Fake Meat, Quinoa Bread, Mixed Greens (Dinner)
  • With plenty of water throughout the day as well.

I will have to admit that by the time I head home from work I feel really empty and hungry. To resolve this I plan on adding some complex carbs into my diet.

We had a buddy that wanted to go out to dinner yesterday and since Imran and I have started this vegan journey we knew going out to eat would be difficult. So I did a little research and found out that Zpizza has a vegan option. We ended up getting the Berkeley Vegan Pizza: marinara sauce, vegan cheese, veggie burger crumbles, zucchini, tomatoes, mushrooms, red onions, bell peppers. It was really yummy and the fake cheese was not as dreadful as I expected.  Yes, its consistency was a little off, but overall it was quite good and makes me excited to try more vegan places in the DMV area.

Imran with our Berkeley Vegan Pizza

Imran with our Berkeley Vegan Pizza

One response

  1. jd

    Try peanut/almond butter in the shakes or also more fruit like blueberries/strawberries. I would think the shakes would be the best part of your diet!

    March 27, 2013 at 12:25 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers